The University of KwaZulu-Natal Foundation is the formal fundraising arm of the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN). The UKZN was formed on 1 January 2004 as a result of the merger between the University of Durban-Westville and the University of Natal. The new University brings together the rich histories of both the former Universities. As part of this rich chronicle, the Foundation record dates back to 1949 when the then Natal University Development Fund was established and weaves through 1999 when the University of Durban Westville Foundation came into being. Subsequent to the merger, the name was changed in 2003 to the University of KwaZulu-Natal Foundation Trust to reflect the name of the merged institution.


To provide an efficient and effective fundraising service which supports the development of UKZN and addresses the needs and aspirations of our donors


Legal and Fiduciary responsibilities for the Foundation and its activities rest with a Board of Trustees, which comprises members of the University Executive Management, members of the University Council and Convocation, and representatives from the broader community. The Board of Trustees meets four times annually, or more frequently if necessary. The Audit and Risk Committee and the Remuneration Committee are sub-committees of the Board, which meet at least two times annually, or more frequently if necessary.